Disney Animation / Kugali New Series “Iwájú” to Air Across Africa

Disney Channel to Air Series Across Continent Following Disney+ Premiere


By: | on | 3539 views
Topic: Entertainment


Disney Animation / Kugali New Series “Iwájú” to Air Across Africa


Following the debut of Walt Disney Animation Studios and Pan-African Entertainment Company Kugali’s “Iwájú” on Disney+ on Feb 28. 2024, the all-new original animated series will be heading to Disney Channel across Africa.

“Iwájú” will air* across Africa on Disney Channel—distributed on DStv platform (Channel 303)—this April and May, giving viewers across the continent an opportunity to view the series in territories where Disney+ is not available. “We created ‘Iwájú’ as a love letter to Lagos, Nigeria, and an ode to the rich legacy of African storytelling,” said Director Olufikayo Ziki Adeola. “We’re proud to share this series and hope that it inspires more Africans across the world to share their stories and shape our collective narrative.”

Says Christine Service, Senior Vice President and General Manager of The Walt Disney Company Africa: “‘Iwájú’ is a true celebration of the creativity and storytelling excellence that is at the heart of Disney, bringing the immense talent and creative vision of home-grown filmmakers to the world. With the distribution of the series on Disney Channel, the release of the ‘Disney Iwájú: Rising Chef” mobile game and the “Iwaju” Original Soundtrack Score, we are excited to give audiences across Africa the chance to experience this ambitious and uniquely innovative series.”

A first-of-its-kind collaboration with Pan-African entertainment company, Kugali, “Iwájú” is an original animated series set in a futuristic Lagos and tells the exciting coming-of-age story of Tola, a young girl from the wealthy island, and her best friend, Kole, a self-taught tech expert, as they discover the secrets and dangers hidden in their different worlds. “Iwájú” streams exclusively on Disney+ Feb. 28, 2024, in a six-episode event.

Also debuting Feb. 28 on Disney+ is “Iwájú: A Day Ahead,” a documentary special filmed across three continents that shares the story of the founders of the Pan-African entertainment company, Kugali, who made their dream a reality creating an original animation series with Walt Disney Animation Studios. Created by the ABC News Studios and Walt Disney Animation Studios team that brought you “Into the Unknown: Making Frozen 2,” the documentary shows anything is possible when talent meets opportunity. “Iwájú: A Day Ahead” is directed by Megan Harding and executive produced by Amy Astley and Beth Hoppe. 

*“Iwájú” will premiere each weekday from April. 22-26 at 17:00(CAT)/16:00(WAT) with a special marathon on April. 27 from 14:00 (CAT)/13:00(WAT), leading up to the final episode at 17:00(CAT)/16:00(WAT). Special repeat broadcasts will run from April. 29 – May. 4 with a marathon on May. 5 from 13:35(CAT)/12:35 (WAT) and, on Africa Day, May. 25, viewers will be able to view another 6-episode marathon from 11:00(CAT)/10:00(WAT).

Distributed by APO Group on behalf of The Walt Disney Company.

Copyright: Fresh Angle International (www.freshangleng.com)
ISSN 2354 - 4104


Sponsored Ad




Our strategic editorial policy of promoting journalism, anchored on the tripod of originality, speed and efficiency, would be further enhanced with your financial support. Your kind contribution, to our desire to become a big global brand, should be credited to our account:

Fresh Angle Nig. Ltd
ACCOUNT NUMBER: 0130931842.
BANK GTB.



Sponsored

Sponsored Ads