Delta South: Our agreement not based on political parties- Isoko, Itsekiri leaders

*It’s political brigandage to seek 4th, 5th term- PG, IDU

By: | on | 1379 views
Topic: News

NNPC Monthly oil and gas report january 2020
Delta South: Our agreement not based on political parties- Isoko, Itsekiri leaders
Some members of Warri Council of Chiefs led by Chief Ayirimi Emami ( middle) & Isoko leaders. 5th from right ( Front Row) is Chief Iduh Amadhe shortly after the visit

Leaders of Isoko and Itsekiri ethnic Nationalities in Delta South have stressed that the age-long rotational power agreement between the Ijaws, Isokos and Itsekiri for Delta South Senatorial Seat was not based on political party consideration, but hinged on the principle of fairness, justice and equity.

The clarification was made Wednesday September 5 at Oleh in Isoko South Local Government Area of Delta State when a high-powered delegation from the Olu of Warri (Ogiame Ikenwoli) led by the Ologbotsere of Warri, Chief Ayirimi Emami visited the leadership of Isoko ethnic Nationality, with a view to addressing pockets of agitation brewing regarding Delta South Senatorial Seat as it affects the forthcoming 2019 election.

Fresh Angle International can report that the Itsekiri delegation included: the Uwangue of Warri, Chief Gabriel Awala, the Otsodi of Warri, Chief Isaac Jemide, Chief Brown Mene, Chief Koffi Edomi Kartey, Chairman of Itsekiri Leaders of Thought, Chief Edwin Ekpoko, Chief Clement Akpoto Malemi, Chief Michael Odeli and Chief Alex Omaghomi.

Prominent Isoko leaders that received the select-members of Warri Council of Chiefs were: President-General of Isoko Development Union, IDU, High Chief Iduh Awadhe, Chief (Dr.) Dennis Etaluku, one-time Secretary to State Government, Sir Simeon Efenudu, renowned educationist, Dr. Idodo Umeh and Chief Mike Osigie.

Respected Warri Chief, Brown Mene who spoke on behalf of the Itsekiri delegation, noted that the rotational agreement for the Delta South Senatorial Seat between the Ijaw, Isoko and Itsekiri dates back to the second republic, to avoid a situation where the three tribes will fight themselves.

While stressing that the agreement “was not based on political party”, Chief Mene went down memory lane to mention occupants of the position, like late Justice Atake, followed by Ijaw National Leader, Chief Edwin Clark, late Chief Francis Okpozo, before Chief Stella Omu represented the district in the current republic between 1999 and 2003, when James Manager took over and remained in the position till date “like a broken record”.

He quipped that it was the turn of Itsekiri to produce Delta South Senator in 2019, assuring that Itsekiri Nation is committed to ensure that the person that will emerge will represent the Ijaw, Isoko and itsekiri interest, just as he noted that the brotherly engagement with the Isoko leaders will be extended to their Ijaw counterparts.

Isoko leaders such as Chief D.A Etaluku, Chief Idodo Umeh, Sir Simeon Efenudu and Chief Mike Osigie while speaking in the same vein, endorsed the itsekiri position of power rotation as regards the Senatorial Seat and expressed their support for Itsekiri candidacy come 2019.

They affirmed that as a way to end the current political logjam, the Itsekiri people who they described as trustworthy and straight-forward should be backed for the Senatorial Seat.

President-General of Isoko Development Union, IDU, Chief Iduh Amadhe in his submission, declared that it will amount to “practicing political brigandage” against equity and justice for anybody in the Senatorial district to seek for 4th or 5th term.

Chief Amadhe noted that Isoko Nation will not present any candidate for the Senatorial position in 2019, stressing, “we (Ijaw, Isoko and Itsekiri) must come together and sign agreement of maximum of two terms”, for each ethnic nationality as it affects Delta South.

The Isoko and Itsekiri leaders agreed that renewed engagement should be extended to their Ijaw neighbor to make for a better tripartite synergy.

The Prime Minister of Warri Kingdom, Chief Ayirimi Emami who led the 12-man Itsekiri delegation, expressed happiness with the disposition of Isoko leaders and assured that they will engage their Ijaw counterparts on the optimism that they will key into the restart of the rotation agreement.  

NNPC Monthly oil and gas report january 2020

Copyright: Fresh Angle International (

Tonebsky Nesta
Tonebsky Nesta is the pen name for Metsese Anthony Ebule, Co-Publisher/Editor-In-Chief
Read other stories by Tonebsky Nesta
comments powered by Disqus

Sponsored Ads

NNPC Monthly oil and gas report january 2020